South and Southeast River Station is located in Commerce Square, in Lisbon, where it is possible to catch the boats that make the connection to the south bank of the Tagus. Next to Navy Dock and Commerce Square, it is a point with history by the river. Inaugurated in 1932, it has undergone several renovations; the last one being completed in May 2021.
Designed by Cottinelli Telmo (1897-1948), in the Art Déco style, it was inaugurated in 1932 to connect Lisbon to Barreiro by river. That’s how it worked for years, starting to establish connections to Seixal and Almada.
The Station’s rehabilitation
However, and after about two decades without use, the rehabilitation of the Station began in 2019 under an exterior architecture project by Ana Costa, granddaughter of Cotinelli Telmo, and Bruno Soares, inside, seeking to preserve the fidelity of the appearance. original. This renovated building opened on May 1, 2021.
However, the marble floor, the tiles, the art deco inspiration and the large clock were maintained; its filling being minimalist in style. Inside the station, it is possible to find the “Centro Tejo”, an interactive space that explores the river and its shared history between Lisbon residents and inhabitants of the south bank. This space invites the visitor to discover the Tagus along several thematic rooms, with an interactive model with water showing the effect of the tides and a space with holograms, dedicated to professions and activities related to the river.
The station also has a cafeteria with a terrace in the former first-class waiting room, where the tiles by painter Alves de Sá (1878-1972) have been restored.
In summary, the South and Southeast River Station is an important historical and cultural landmark in Lisbon, offering a variety of transport, leisure and entertainment options for visitors. With its imposing architecture, stunning views and cultural and leisure spaces, it is a must-visit for anyone visiting the city of Lisbon.